Osso Buco

Osso Buco with Gremolata
adapted slightly from Candace at I Shot the Chef

Osso Buco

6 veal shanks, 1 to 1 1/2 inches thick
2 tablespoons olive oil (or more, as needed)
2 medium carrots, diced
1 large onion, diced
2 medium stalks celery, diced
6 cloves garlic, chopped
2 tablespoons tomato paste
4 stalks fresh rosemary
6 stalks fresh thyme
6 stalks fresh parsley
2 fresh bay leaves
1 1/2 cups dry white wine
3 cups veal, beef, chicken or turkey stock (preferably whatever you have homemade)
Kosher salt
Fresh ground black pepper

Gremolata

Mix together:
2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons lemon zest, grated

Method

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Tie veal shanks with kitchen twine so they hold together during cooking.

2. In a large, heavy-bottomed pot, heat oil over medium high heat. Add the shanks in batches and brown well on all sides, adding more oil if necessary. Remove to a plate. Reduce heat to medium low and add the diced carrots, onions, celery and garlic and saute for 10 minutes, or until softened. Add the tomato paste and stir around for 1-2 minutes, until completely incorporated with the vegetables.

3. Prepare the bouquet garni: wrap the rosemary, thyme, parsley and bay leaves in cheesecloth. Secure with kitchen twine and add it to the pan. Return the shanks to the pan and arrange in a single layer as best you can. Add the white wine, 2 cups of stock, salt and pepper. The liquid should reach about halfway up the shanks.

4. Increase the heat to high and bring just to a boil and cover with the lid. Place in the oven and braise for 1 hour. Remove from the oven and add stock if needed to keep the liquid level halfway up the shanks. Braise until the meat is tender and offers no resistance when pierced with the tip of a sharp knife, about 1 hour more.

5. When the veal is cooked, remove shanks to an ovenproof serving platter and keep warm in the oven. Remove and discard the bouquet garni. Spoon off any fat from the braising liquid and bring the juices to a boil over medium high heat until slightly thickened. Serve over the veal shanks and garnish with Gremolata.

NOTES

Le Creuset French oven: christened.

20 thoughts on “Osso Buco

  1. I'd say you welcomed your pots home in grand style! Can you believe I have never had this dish. Ever. But veal frightens me…I find it gamey. And I call myself a foodie, I know. Yeesh.

    Like

  2. I'm so infinitely jealous of your meat market. Did you have to special-order the shanks? I can't seem to get them here. Need to go on a quest now, I can smell this in my brain.

    Like

  3. Thanks Heidi. I'm loving my new pieces! But spatter-free? Because of my clean stove? It isn't!

    Amy, I don't find veal gamy at all, only lamb. But I will admit that Steve likes this dish more than I do. Replace the veal with short ribs (like I did last night) and I'm a happier camper.

    Elliot! Before I go any further, let me just say I was amused to discover that you found me through Cary, Bev, Mary… that already tells me something great about you. Pleased to meet-cha. *Tips hat*

    As for the shanks, I got them at a Persian/American market called Wholesome Choice, of which there are two locations in Orange County. Couldn't find them anywhere else. But it's just as well because going there for the veal introduced me to a fabulous new market.

    Like

  4. Melissa, pleased to be here, they're great people. Being where I am, there's an awful lot of pork going on, very little veal. When we move back to WI I might have better luck. I've tried with the beef shanks before, but they just don't melt like the veal does.

    Like

  5. hmmm… i may have to give this a try. i need to find a dutch oven first. any tips about how to find a good dutch oven? i'm totally admitting my ignorance about cookware here.

    also, i know nothing about veal… what do you look for when buying veal shanks?

    Like

  6. Tom πŸ™‚

    Cali – If you don't want to spend too much, I would say get the Batali French oven. It was tested by Cook's Illustrated and came out the best for French (Dutch) ovens that won't break the bank. You just want something heavy-bottomed, very durable, and of even, decent thickness on the sides so it distributes heat well.

    And the veal? Heck, forget about details, if you can find 'em, just take 'em! Even my Whole Foods rarely carries them.

    Rose, yes! Yours was so awesome.

    Katie, *blush* thanks.

    Blythe, I love you hahaha. And yes, I got your references, you should know that! πŸ™‚

    Vicki, as I said a little further up, I actually like braised short ribs more than osso buco, so I don't blame ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

