Scallops with Pea Puree, Pancetta and Gremolata

I feel a pang of longing just looking at this photo again. *Whimper*

Scallops with Pea Puree, Pancetta and Gremolata
courtesy of Amy

Ingredients

1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest
2 medium shallots, finely chopped
3 ounces diced pancetta
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon minced garlic
2 cups frozen early sweet peas, thawed
1 cup chicken broth
12 medium sea scallops, patted dry and seasoned with salt and pepper
1 tablespoon butter

Method

For the gremolata: in a small bowl combine the parsley, lemon zest, and one tablespoon of shallot. Set aside.

In a large saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium-high heat. Sauté the pancetta until crispy and cooked through, 2-3 minutes. Remove from pan, leaving some of the reserved fat in the pan. Set aside.

In the same pan, over medium heat, sauté the garlic and remaining shallots for about 3-4 minutes. Add the peas and broth and season with a little salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer and let cook for about 5 minutes.

Transfer the contents to a blender and puree to a smooth consistency. Return the puree to the pan, along with the cooked pancetta, cover and set aside to keep warm.

In a large nonstick skillet, heat butter and the remaining olive oil over medium-high until very hot. Add scallops and cook, flipping once, until golden brown on both sides and almost firm to the touch, about 3 minutes per side.

On serving plates, arrange the scallops on top of the puree and sprinkle with the gremolata.

NOTES

I barely know what to say about this. It surpassed my expectations beyond measure. In a single bite, you get the buttery scallop, salty pancetta, sweet and savory pea puree and sharp and pungent gremolata.

Absolutely ridiculously amazingly outrageously good. Thank you for convincing me to make this one, Amy; thank you times a million.

15 thoughts on “Scallops with Pea Puree, Pancetta and Gremolata

  1. Hey, remember I carried the original recipe around with me for a year! Better late than never, right? God, your pictures…the pancetta so deep brown and crispy. Sigh. I need to make this again.

    Like

  2. Amy, it's very possible that I will be making this again soon myself. Like this weekend. Steve MUST HAVE THIS.

    Anne, that really is the beauty of it. It looks fancy and “nice restaurant”-ish but the ingredients and method are easy as can be.

    April, go go go! Try it. You will not be disappointed, I PROMISE.

    Like

  3. Update: I made it for dinner over a little whole wheat linguine (my family needs a starch) and it was unbelievable. Fantastic. AND my 7-month old really enjoyed the pea puree mixed with some rotini pasta. Thank you and Amy.

    God, I'm glad I only made what you recommended, because I would be stuffing myself with more.

    And BTW, I used 2 slices of Wright's thick slice bacon instead of pancetta. Still fabulous. 🙂

    Like

  4. Mmmm over whole wheat linguine sounds GOOD. Really, really good.

    You're welcome. 🙂 I'm stoked someone else enjoyed this so quickly. I really am making it again this weekend!!

    Like

  5. YUMMY! My mouth is watering… I'm always interested in finding new ways to make scallops and I love the combo of flavors in this with the pancetta, peas, & garlic. What's not to like?

    I'm bookmarking this now and WILL be making it at some point in the near future!

    Like

  6. I would so buy this in a restaurant! So vibrant! Pea puree: a thing I've not heard since last season of Top Chef! Of course, if this dish were on Top Chef, you'd see only one scallop and a drop of pea puree swiped to look like a green grass stain!

    Like

Leave a Reply

