Herb and Spice Lamb Chops

These are the best lamb chops you will ever eat. Cross my heart.

Herb and Spice Lamb Chops
slightly adapted from Food and Wine

Ingredients

1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
4 garlic cloves, thickly sliced
1/4 cup rosemary leaves
3 tablespoons flat-leaf parsley leaves
2 tablespoons mint leaves
2 tablespoons oregano leaves
1 1/2 tablespoons kosher salt
1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon fennel seeds
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cardamom
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
12 lamb loin chops, 1 1/2 inches thick (or, alternatively, about 2 pounds double rib chops, cut into individual chops)

Method

In a saucepan, combine 1/4 cup of the oil with the garlic and cook over moderate heat, stirring frequently, until golden, 4 minutes. Transfer the garlic oil to a blender. Add the rosemary, parsley, mint, oregano, salt, pepper, fennel, cumin, cardamom, vinegar and the remaining 3/4 cup of oil and puree until relatively smooth.

Arrange the lamb chops in a shallow baking dish. Pour the marinade on top, turn to coat and refrigerate overnight.

Return to room temperature before grilling.

Light a grill or heat a grill pan. Remove the lamb chops from the marinade and grill over high heat, turning occasionally, until browned, about 10 minutes for medium-rare.

NOTES

My old readers may remember me screaming about this recipe long ago. To be more precise, I actually said “make this or I will hunt you down and kick you in the shins!” Krysta and I still make jokes about recipes like this, calling them “kick you in the shins” recipes. But really, it’s that good.

The first time I made these, Steve said that this is what lamb chops “should” taste like. Something about the combination of herbs and spices from various parts of the world that really know what they’re doing with lamb… it all just works. They’re beautiful. And nearly addictive. Considering how iffy I usually feel about lamb, trust me, I do not say that lightly.

6 thoughts on “Herb and Spice Lamb Chops

  1. Sharon, not a dumb question at all! In this particular dish, I have always used fresh rosemary, parsley and mint. Oregano I tend to do dry these days, though – just scale it back from 2 tablespoons to 1. In fact, I am a big proponent of using dried if that's what you have – I use dried thyme and rosemary constantly these days. Just be sure to halve the amount that you would use of fresh.

    Like

  2. thanks Melissa! So, I am now your newest fan! OMG I made your tikka masala and your pad kee mao….it was PHENOMENAL! I will be lurking your blog the rest of this evening to plan out next week's menu. You are my culinary hero 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

