Tabbouleh

I love tabbouleh. Love. LOOOOOVE. And I can tell you exactly why:

1. I love chewy grains.
2. I love cold foods that have sharp, bright flavors.
3. I love eating mouthfuls of fresh herbs.

This bowl… someone give me a massive spoon. And a napkin.

This is my new addiction. I will make it at least once per week through this spring and summer, or until I get tired of it. Knowing my obsessive nature, that isn’t likely to happen anytime soon.

Tabbouleh

Ingredients

1/2 cup bulgur wheat
1/2 cup vegetable stock (or chicken stock) or water
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1/2 cup fresh mint, chopped
1 pint cherry tomatoes, quartered
1 medium cucumber, seeded and diced
2 scallions, greens and whites, sliced or chopped

Method

Place the bulgur in a medium sized bowl. Bring the stock or water and the salt to a boil, then pour it over the bulgur. Let sit for 30 minutes.

Add the lemon juice to the bulgur and mix well. Add in the rest of the other ingredients and mix to combine. Add salt and pepper, to taste.

You can eat it immediately, but it’s much better if you let it marinate in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes – and it’s even more amazing the next day!

6 thoughts on “Tabbouleh

  1. Love Tabbouleh, especially with some cold fresh sliced turkey and cottage cheese, and maybe a side of fresh fruit. Obviously, this is how I usually order it at my local Jewish deli. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

