Granola Bars

Granola Bars

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup wheat germ
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup dried cranberries
1 cup slivered almonds
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup honey
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup grapeseed or other neutral oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Method

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat a 9×13 inch baking pan with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, wheat germ, cinnamon, flour, cranberries, almonds and salt. Make a well in the center and pour in the honey, egg, oil and vanilla. Mix well using your hands. Pat the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.

Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the bars are just golden brown at the edges. Cool for 5 minutes, then cut into bars while still warm. Do not allow the bars to cool completely before cutting, or they will be too hard to cut.

NOTES

These are so damn awesome. Even with giving some away, we plowed through the first batch in a few days and I made a second batch immediately. They’ve been serving as a fantastic dessert, particularly since I’ve been working out every day… they just “feel good,” you know? Still, I have to be careful. Granola bars are a danger food for me, one of those that takes a lot of self-control to make myself stop eating. Like bagels and cream cheese. Like caprese pasta. Like really fresh sushi. Okay, I need to stop.

Anyway! I highly recommend sliced almonds and dried cranberries in these, but you can make them with 2 cups of anything: nuts, dried fruit or raisins, mini chocolate chips, whatever floats your boat. Play around; it all works and it’s all delicious.

6 thoughts on “Granola Bars

  1. I've made various granola bars over the years, but none of them really stuck. I think I was trying way too healthy varieties that left them flavorless and crumbly. These sound perfect. I'm gonna make them. Not sure when, but I will. Printed it out.
    Now, what's the *note regarding the oil?

    Like

  2. Oh fucking hell. My oversight. I was going to say that the first time I had to use a half cup + 2 tablespoons to get it to come together, but when I made it tonight, it worked so beautifully with just the half cup. I think I just needed to mix better. Deleting that text…

    Like

  3. And seriously, Amy, make these. They take all of 5 minutes to prepare and they are just perfect – almost too soft, if anything. Eat one while they're still warm. Jeebus.

    Like

  4. Gotcha. No, I'm on it. For sure. I already checked and I have all the ingredients in house. Score. I'm always looking for new snacks, like you are sides.

    Like

  5. Hey, remember me? = )

    I've often thought about trying to make granola bars and your post has me sold. you make it seem so easy. Plus this is so much better to munch on than chips!

    Hope everything is going well for you Melissa! ~Hugs~

    Like

  6. I do remember you Katherine and I appreciate the hello and well wishes. I hope you are doing great also. 🙂

    And the granola bars are easy easy easy. I think I will be making these for many years to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

