Italian Sausage

Italian Sausage

Ingredients

4 lb ground pork (I grind my own from boneless pork shoulder)
12 large garlic cloves, peeled
4 tablespoons Kosher salt
4 tablespoons fennel seed
2 tablespoons crushed red pepper

Method

Put the garlic cloves, salt, fennel seeds and red pepper flakes in a mortar and pestle and smash, grind and work it together until it forms a paste in which there are no large pieces of garlic remaining.

Add the spice paste to the ground pork and, using your hands, mix until well combined.

Use immediately or freeze in portions.

NOTES

I’ve been making my own Italian sausage for quite some time now, but never thought to blog about it until I put the garlic and spices in a mortar and pestle. I just cannot stress enough how much difference this made in the taste of the cooked product. Ab-so-lute BLISS for someone who loves Italian sausage as much as I do.

As for the seasoning amounts, I do recommend 1 tablespoon of Kosher salt per pound (salt level is very important for sausage, mind you), but otherwise, you can adjust to your own liking.

7 thoughts on “Italian Sausage

  1. That first picture? Beautiful. I think I told you that I gave my sister a mortar and pestle for Christmas. She absolutely loves it and says making guacamole has never been more enjoyable 😀

    Like

  2. Pingback: Baked Ziti | Hunt, Cook, Eat

  3. Pingback: Sausage, Spinach and Pepperoni Pasta Bake | Hunt, Cook, Eat

  4. Pingback: Sausage, Tomato, and Pea Pasta | Hunt, Cook, Eat

Leave a Reply

