Mexican Chicken and Rice Soup

Mexican Chicken and Rice Soup
inspired by Gimme Some Oven

Ingredients

1.25 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 small white onion, chopped
2 jalapenos, seeded and chopped
1 small chayote, diced
1 large red bell pepper, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon cumin
1 tablespoon Mexican oregano
4 cups stock or water
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 cup frozen corn
2 chipotles in adobo sauce, roughly chopped + 1 tablespoon adobo sauce
3 cups cooked white rice (yield from 1 cup dry)
1 cup salsa verde (I used a little can of Herdez)
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Garnish: diced avocado, fresh cilantro, tortilla chips, shredded cheese, scallions, lime wedges

Method

Heat a large stockpot over medium-high heat. Add chicken, onion, jalapenos, chayote, bell pepper, garlic, salt, cumin and oregano. Saute for about 8 to 10 minutes until the vegetables are soft and the chicken nearly cooked through.

Add stock, tomatoes, corn, chipotles and adobo sauce and stir to combine. Heat until boiling, then reduce heat to medium and let it simmer at a hard bubble for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in the rice, salsa verde, lime juice and cilantro.

Serve warm with desired garnishes.

NOTES

This was nothing short of fabulous. I consider it a worthy successor to my old chicken tortilla soups – heartier, spicier, somehow a little more complex. Absolutely love. I foresee this being a permanent fixture.

6 thoughts on “Mexican Chicken and Rice Soup

  1. I just wanted to say, I follow you on twitter and I love your recipes, but as a novice cook some looked a little daunting… this sounded too good to not try though, and it's probably the most delicious thing I've ever created 🙂 Thanks for posting so many recipes!

    Like

  2. Anon – your comments reinforce for me yet again why I continue to post here publicly and share my stuff on other social media. If I can just get novice cooks – which I was not so very long ago – to make delicious food for themselves and see that it can be done, my life's work is somewhat complete. 😉

    Seriously, thank you. Your comments means so much to me!

    Like

  3. Another winner!!! We tried your recipe a few weeks back –tried to post feedback sooner, but forgot.
    Love all your efforts, and have featured some at our Cinco de Mayo parties. Great stuff!!!

    Like

  4. Thanks Carlos!! I always love when you pop in to let me know you've made another recipe with success. Makes my day. 🙂 I love this one, too. Happy Cooking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

