Cumin-Lime Chickpea Salad

Cumin-Lime Chickpea Salad

Ingredients

4 large cloves garlic, minced
2-3 tablespoons lime juice, depending on how zingy you want it
2 teaspoons cumin
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon salt
3 (15 ounce) cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
1/2 large red onion, very finely diced
1/2 bunch cilantro, finely chopped*

(*Feel free to substitute parsley if you have an aversion to cilantro; I’ve tried it both ways and it’s awesome either way!)

Method

In a large bowl, combine the garlic, lime juice, cumin, cayenne, and salt. Add to the chickpeas, cilantro and onion; stir gently to combine. Serve right away or refrigerate for a while. The flavors get stronger the longer they have to meld.

NOTES

DELICIOUS and fantastic for a party side dish. I am kicking myself for waiting far, far too long to make it. I upped the spices just a touch from the original, as I like things a bit punchier.

This dish, along with my tabbouleh, have become my go-to late afternoon snacks, and will probably serve in that role for years and years to come.

8 thoughts on “Cumin-Lime Chickpea Salad

  1. Melissa! Just a quick question: in the ingredients, your recipe calls for cilantro, but in the directions you wrote “parsley.”

    [PS: I just made it (like, literally, just now) with cilantro and it came out awesome.]

    I've got some friends that have the cilantro-hating gene, and I'm guessing from the fact that you wrote cilantro above and parsley below that you've tried this recipe out with both. So, my (long-winded) question is: have you experimented with this recipe with parsley rather than cilantro, and did it come out okay? Let me know!!

    Dan @ Casual Kitchen

    Like

  2. Whoops! 🙂 Thanks for the catch, Dan. I changed the post and as you can see, I have tried it with both to great results.

    I copied the recipe back down from my dear friend Amy (Very Culinary), who hates cilantro, and made it the first time with parsley without realizing she had changed it. The second time it occurred to me this was more of a cilantro dish so I changed it back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

