Sausage, Peppers and Onions Pasta

Sausage, Peppers and Onions Pasta

Ingredients

1 lb bulk Italian sausage (I use my homemade version)
1 large sweet onion, sliced thin
2 bell peppers, any color, finely chopped
4 large cloves garlic, minced or grated
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 tablespoon dried basil
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon Kosher salt
12 ounces dried small shaped pasta
1/2 cup reserved pasta water
Handful of fresh Italian parsley, minced
Grated parmesan and red pepper flakes, for serving

Method

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and cook, breaking into chunks with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink, about 5 or 6 minutes. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add the onion, peppers and garlic to the pan. Saute for another 7 or 8 minutes until the onion and peppers are soft. Add the sausage back to the pan, along with the crushed tomatoes, basil, oregano and salt, scraping the bottom of the pan to get up any stuck bits. Reduce heat to medium and simmer at a steady bubble, uncovered, for 20 minutes. If it starts bubbling too hard, reduce heat to medium low.

While the sauce is simmering, bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Add the pasta and cook until barely al dente, about 9 minutes. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water, then drain the pasta into a colander.

Add the pasta to the sausage and sauce mixture and stir to coat. If it is too thick, add some of the reserved pasta water and toss again.

Sprinkle with parsley. Serve immediately with grated cheese and red pepper flakes at the table.

NOTES

So. Damn. Good.

I’ve had this idea floating around for a while. I need more dishes for my Italian sausage that aren’t baked pastas or loaded with cheese (i.e., healthy, hearty, weeknight dishes). Steve and I always loved sausage, peppers and onions on buns; however, when I make my own Italian sausage it is always in bulk (no casings), so I had to find a way to enjoy those flavors without the sandwiches. Well, you all know me: if I can find a way to make something into a one-pot dish, I WILL.

This turned out even better than I could have expected or hoped. Savory but sweet due to the peppers and onions kind of melting into the sauce. Steve was so enamored with that flavor, he said I should make red sauce this way all the time, regardless of the dish. HA. So, I’ll be making this again next week and it will stay at the forefront of my mind when I menu plan with sausage from now on. Major success!

4 thoughts on “Sausage, Peppers and Onions Pasta

  1. Made tonight and that was so good will make again and again! Accidentally bought honey garlic sausage from Costco and was ticked at myself yet was so good anyhow! Thanks for recipe ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

