Pound Cake

Pound Cake
slightly adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, room temperature
1 1/2 cups butter, room temperature
3 cups white sugar
6 eggs, room temperature
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Method

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 degrees C) and grease and flour a 10 inch tube pan (see notes).

In a large bowl, cream butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add sugar gradually (by about a quarter cup at a time) and beat until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, each time mixing gently until the yolk just disappears. Add the flour all at once and mix gently until just incorporated. Add vanilla and lemon juice and stir to combine.

Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes. Start checking for doneness at 1 hour. A skewer inserted into center of cake will come out clean.

Remove the cake from the oven to a cooling rack for 10 minutes. Turn the cake out on the rack and let cool completely. Store the cake on the rack covered with a thin towel for up to 3 days.

NOTES

This was my first pound cake and it turned out spectacularly. I feel like this is one of those “ignorance is bliss” kind of things that happen to me with cooking and baking sometimes – i.e., I don’t know that pound cake is supposed to be touchy or difficult; I used a base recipe, read a few tips (like having everything at room temperature is a MUST) and that was that. Perfection.

And this was seeeeeriously delicious. It will now stand in my archives as a go-to for special occasions. It’s easy, only uses one bowl (my FAVORITE kind of baking recipe), and versatile. I served this first one with homemade whipped cream, strawberry compote, and blueberry compote, which were all perfect toppings, but I also want to try ones with a lemon glaze and maybe a berry or chocolate swirl throughout (with the chocolate, I would eliminate the lemon juice from the recipe).

As for the pan size: a 10-inch tube pan is ideal, but other pans can be substituted as long as the capacity is similar. I only had this bundt pan at my disposal and luckily it was very close (a 10-inch tube pan is about 16 cups; my bundt pan holds 15 cups).

2 thoughts on “Pound Cake

  1. The best pound cake ever! I always get requests to make this after they’ve had it. 🙂 in fact, I’ll be making one for someone today for Valentine’s Day! 💗

    Like

Leave a Reply

