Keema Matar

Keema Matar
(literally: mincemeat and peas)

Ingredients

1 tablespoon grapeseed or olive oil
1 medium sweet onion, diced fine
4 cloves garlic, minced
1-inch piece ginger, peeled and minced
1-1/2 pounds ground chicken or lamb
2 teaspoons sweet paprika
2 teaspoons ground coriander
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne (or to taste)
1 14.5-oz can petite diced tomatoes
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 cup frozen peas
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1/2 cup minced cilantro

Method

In a large deep skillet, warm oil over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until golden. Add garlic and ginger, and saute for another minute. Add meat, breaking up lumps with a wooden spoon, and saute until meat is no longer pink.

Add the spices, and cook for 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes, water and salt. Stir well and simmer, partially covered, about 10 minutes. Stir in the peas, and cook another 2 minutes, until heated through.

Stir in the vinegar and finish with the cilantro. Serve with warm pita and/or basmati rice.

NOTES

Another dish from my favorite Indian place that compelled me to try my own hand at it – and it only took me two tries to get it how I wanted it! Crazy good. Quick and simple, huge on flavor: the best kind of weeknight meal.

Both times I’ve made it I’ve used chicken, but I promised Steve I would try it with lamb next. Lamb is more traditional and I also think it would be a good testing of the waters to see if might like lamb these days. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

