Massaman Curry



Massaman Curry
with thanks to userealbutter

Ingredients

1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 large sweet onion, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
13.5 oz. can of coconut milk (not lowfat), not shaken
4 oz. can of massaman curry paste
1.5 lbs. chicken, cut into large chunks
1 tsp kosher salt
2 cups chicken stock or water
1 tbsp fish sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp tamarind paste
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 1/2 lbs. small yellow potatoes, scrubbed clean, cut in half
1/2 cup dry roasted peanuts, crushed
Jasmine rice

Method

Heat the vegetable oil over medium high heat in a Dutch oven. Sear the onions for about 4 minutes without disturbing them until they brown on the edges. Remove the onions from the pot to a plate and set aside. In the same pot over medium high heat, cook the curry paste with the thick layer of coconut cream at the top of the coconut milk until the mixture begins to fry, 3 to 4 minutes. Season the chicken with the salt in a large bowl. Add the chicken to the curry paste and stir until the chicken is evenly coated with the paste. Stir in the rest of the coconut milk, the onions, stock or water, fish sauce, soy sauce, tamarind paste, and brown sugar.

Bring the curry to a boil, then cover the Dutch oven with its lid and simmer for 30 minutes on medium low. Add the potatoes and simmer for an additional 30 minutes or until potatoes are fork tender. Serve with roasted peanuts sprinkled on top.

NOTES

Savory, spicy, sour: this dish was fantastic – and quite the lovely surprise because strangely, with all my Thai food adventures in my 15 years in California, I had never tried Massaman curry. But when I saw the deliciousness in Jen’s post, I knew I had to give it a go. I used 1.5 pounds chicken instead of 3 pounds beef out of personal preference but left the sauce basically the same. 

I also had to get the tamarind and the massaman curry paste from an Asian market – and it’s a good thing I did because in my search, I discovered the most wonderful well-stocked little Asian grocery just a few miles away! What an awesome find. I thought there was nothing near me here and I was extremely pleased I had reason to be proven wrong.

One thought on “Massaman Curry

  1. Pingback: Panang Curry with Beef | Hunt, Cook, Eat

Leave a Reply

