Tom Kha Gai

IMG_1100IMG_1102Tom Kha Gai
slightly adapted from RinS Cookbook Channel

Ingredients

  • 4 cups water
  • 2 stalks lemongrass, sliced into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 8 slices fresh galangal
  • 8 kaffir lime leaves, sliced in half
  • 1 small bunch cilantro, chopped (set aside about 1/4 cup leaves for garnish)
  • 3 scallions, sliced thin, white and light green parts separated (set aside dark green pieces for garnish)
  • 1-1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/3 cup fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons palm sugar (or light brown sugar)
  • 2 cans full fat coconut milk
  • 8 oz mushrooms, any kind, chopped or sliced
  • 1/3 cup lime juice
  • 1-4 fresh thai birds eye chiles, smashed/cut open with a knife
  • 1 heaping tablespoon chili oil

Method

Pour water into large, deep pot. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Add lemongrass, galangal, lime leaves, cilantro, white and light green scallion pieces, and let simmer for 5 minutes.

Add chicken, fish sauce, and sugar, and simmer for 5-6 minutes more, until chicken is cooked through.

Add coconut milk and mushrooms and bring to boil. Let cook for another 5 minutes, until mushrooms are tender.

Remove from heat. Add lime juice, birds eye chiles, chili oil, scallion tops, and remaining cilantro. Serve hot.

NOTES

I have always wanted to try my hand at tom kha; the only thing that was stopping me was lack of authentic ingredients. But with my newly discovered Asian market nearby, I suspected I could make it happen pretty easily.

Unfortunately, for my first attempt, I picked out a recipe that was all wrong: finicky and complicated, and, to add insult to injury, it came out pale, watery, and bland. All wrong. So I searched again and came across this youtube channel. And WHAT A FIND. I watcher her tom kha video, took notes, waited for the detailed ingredient list at the end, and went for it.

It was perfect! I cannot believe how easy and delicious this was. All it took was the right Thai ingredients and I had a soup made in 25 minutes from start to finish, including prep and serving, that tastes EXACTLY like the tom kha from my favorite Thai place in California (well, a bit spicier, but that can be tweaked to preference). So excited to have stumbled upon this resource. I will definitely be returning to watch the pad thai video, the green curry video, and many many more.

My Thai cooking is on fire lately. I LOVE IT!

3 thoughts on “Tom Kha Gai

  1. Pingback: Pad Kee Mao Gai | Hunt, Cook, Eat

Leave a Reply

