Thai Red Curry Chicken

IMG_0164
Thai Red Curry Chicken

Ingredients

  • 1 cup coconut cream
  • 1 4-oz. can red curry paste (I use Maesri brand)
  • 1-1/4 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, sliced thin or cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 6 kaffir lime leaves, torn by hand
  • 2 tablespoons palm sugar
  • 1/4 cup fish sauce
  • 1 14-oz. can full fat coconut milk
  • 1 bell pepper, cored and chopped (I like to use half red, half green)
  • 1 8-oz. can sliced bamboo shoots
  • Leaves from 1 bunch Thai basil, whole or roughly chopped

Method

Heat the coconut cream in a large pot over medium heat for about 2 minutes, until it releases its natural oil. Stir in the curry paste until fragrant.

Add chicken, water, lime leaves, sugar, fish sauce, and coconut milk and stir. Reduce heat to low, cover and let simmer for 15 minutes.

Add bell pepper and bamboo strips. Cover and let simmer for another 5 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Turn off heat and stir in basil until wilted.

Serve immediately over white or brown jasmine rice.

NOTES

Perfection. I could eat this every week right now. Just another stunningly delicious, easy, quick, and spot on Thai curry for my archives. Like the green curry, I did have an old recipe for this one… that has now gone in my deleted files. Does not even remotely compare. Authentic ingredients and quality curry pastes, man. What. A. Difference.

2 thoughts on “Thai Red Curry Chicken

  1. Hey Melissa! Can’t wait to try this! I love red curry! Do you find it easiest to go to an Asian market to find all your ingredients? Or can I find most of these at the grocery store? I’m a Thai food novice obviously! Lol thanks!

    Like

    • Hey Kyle! You really should get thee to an Asian market if possible. All of these recent Thai dishes I am making have turned out flawlessly because I am using the proper ingredients and truly good curry pastes (I used to use Thai Kitchen pastes from the regular grocery and by comparison they are kind of… not good; I recommend Maesri or Mae Ploy for restaurant-tasting stuff). If you don’t have an Asian market nearby, I can suggest substitutions for you! You may also want to look on Amazon to see what you can find there that can be shipped. Feel free to message me with any questions!

      Like

Leave a Reply

