Pad See Ew

IMG_0811

Pad See Ew

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 8 oz sliced pork or chicken
  • 8 oz wide dry rice noodles, soaked for 40 minutes in cold water until soft and white, drained and rinsed
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • Stir fry sauce (see below)
  • 12 oz Chinese broccoli, stems sliced thinly on a diagonal, leafy ends chopped

Stir fry sauce:

  • 2 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 2 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon light (or “white”) soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon palm sugar
  • 1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
  • 1 medium clove of garlic, minced or grated

Method

Heat oil over very high heat, add meat, stir until no longer pink, but not cooked through. Add noodles, toss well, and let the mixture sit for 2-3 minutes to char.

Move noodles and meat to one side of the pan. Add eggs, then flip noodles and meat over them. Let eggs sit for one minute, then stir and toss until cooked through and well-distributed. Add stir fry sauce and toss through. Add broccoli and stir fry until broccoli is tender. Serve.

IMG_2401

NOTES

This dish. This dish has given me more trouble than any besides chicken vindaloo in trying to create an authentic, blog-worthy representation at home. Six tries later, I think I finally succeeded – meaning, even if it’s not as awesome as my beloved Thai Nakorn‘s version, it’s darn well close enough!

3 thoughts on “Pad See Ew

  1. This is one of my all-time favorite dishes. I never have light soy so I use all dark, and I use brown sugar, but otherwise this is pretty much exactly how I make it. It’s not perfect but it scratches the itch.

    Like

    • That’s exactly how I feel about mine, April – can’t quite get it perfect perfect but it’s close enough to add to my Thai repertoire. And I may tweak it as time goes by to keep getting closer, but at least for now, it satisfies! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

